Milk kefir is a cultured, fermented beverage that aids in digestion. Typically, kefir is made with traditional cow’s milk however, it can also be made with dairy alternatives such as coconut milk or rice milk. And sometimes, even water!
Kefir was first discovered when eastern nomadic travelers carried milk in their pouches for long periods of time at room temperature and noticed it would occasionally be bubbly in appearance.
This creamy but tart beverage is fermented and thus can be consumed by those with a lactose intolerance. Some compare milk kefir to that of drinkable yogurt.
Combine the kefir grains and your milk in a glass jar.
Cover the jar with a cheesecloth and secure it with a rubber band. Store at room temperature (70 degrees Fahrenheit) and away from sunlight.
Let it ferment for 12-48 hours. When your milk is thick and tastes tangy, it’s ready.
Strain your kefir grains and place into a new batch of milk.
Store your finished kefir in the refrigerator and enjoy!
The milk will ferment quicker in warmer temperatures and slower at cooler temperatures, so keep this in mind. Also, if your milk hasn't fermented after 48 hours, strain out the grains and try again. This sometimes happens with new grains or using grains that have been in the refrigerator or dried.